Spain 2021: One day to go

30 Nov. 2021

Spain 2021: One day to go

The 25th IHF Women's World Championship throws off tomorrow night in Torrevieja with hosts Spain taking on South and Central America Championship runners-up Argentina at 20:30 CET. With teams already arriving to their host cities, below is everything you need to know before the best in the world take the court.


For the first time, the IHF Women's World Championship will be contested between 32 teams. For the preliminary round (1-7 December) teams have been divided into eight groups of four. The three teams in each group with the most points will then advance to the main round (8-13 December), while the team in each group with the least points will play in the President's Cup (8-13 December).

The main round will see four groups of eight with the two teams with the most points in each group progressing to the quarter-finals (14-15 December) in a bracket format until a champion is crowned on 19 December. It is important to note that teams that played against each other will not play against each other again in the main round.


Click here to read about the participating teams.


Click here to view the eight groups.


Click here to view the match schedule.

How to watch

Click here to find out how you can watch all the action.

How to follow

Click here to find out how you can stay up-to-date on the latest.

Match ball

Click here to read more about the official ball of the 25th IHF Women’s World Championship – the ‘X5000 Spain 2021 Edition’.

Official song

Click here to read more about Carlos Baute's new song, which will be the anthem for this World Championship.

Win prizes

Learn more here about how you can win special prizes during the competition.

COVID-19 Precaution Plan

Click here to read more about the precaution plan.

About Spain 2021

The 25th IHF Women’s World Championship, the first Women’s World Championship to feature 32 teams, will be staged in Spain from 1 to 19 December 2021. The event will be hosted by four cities, with venues in Castellón, Granollers, Llíria and Torrevieja. Click here for more information or visit the official competition website.