About Congress


The highest IHF body is the IHF Congress, an assembly where representatives from each IHF Member Federation come together. Each federation has one vote, regardless of its size or handballing strength. 

The first IHF Ordinary Congress took place in 1946 in Copenhagen, Denmark, and then was held every two years (even years) before changing in 2007 in Madrid, Spain, at the XXXI IHF Congress, to every two years (odd years) after each IHF Men’s World Championship.

Extraordinary Congresses are convened by the IHF Council upon the written request of a simple majority of Member Federations or Council members. 

Congress news

Show All News
news image
06 Nov. 2021

XXXVIII Ordinary Congress comes to an end

Read more
news image
05 Nov. 2021

XXXVIII Ordinary IHF Congress ready to start

Read more
news image
15 Oct. 2021

XXXVIII Ordinary Congress to be held virtually

Read more
news image
11 Jul. 2019

IHF thanks Congress for cooperation in development of handball

Read more

Congress Live Streaming

background image

IHF Congress Meeting

Watch video

Official Documents

Show All Documents



Agenda items 1-7, 9-…

Agenda items 1-7, 9-12 and 14-21

Agenda item 8_Activi…

2017-2021 IHF Activity Report

Agenda item 13_Overv…

Overview of candidatures

2021 Ordinary IHF Co…

2021 Report_voting r…

History of IHF Congresses

Year Congress City Country
2021 XXXVIII Basel Switzerland
2019 XXXVII Gothenburg Sweden
2017 XXXVI Antalya Turkey
2015 XXXV Sochi Russia
2013 XXXIV Doha Qatar
2011 XXXIII Marrakech Morocco
2009 XXXII Cairo Egypt
2007 XXXI Madrid Spain
2004 XXX El Gouna Egypt
2002 XXIX Saint Petersburg Russia
2000 XXVIII Estoril Portugal
1998 XXVII Yamoussoukro Côte d'Ivoire
1996 XXVI Hilton Head Island United States of America
1994 XXV Noordwijk Netherlands
1992 XXIV Barcelona Spain
1990 XXIII Madeira Portugal
1988 XXII Seoul Korea
1986 XXI Dakar Senegal
1984 XX San Diego United States of America
1982 XIX London England
1980 XVIII Moscow Russia
1978 XVII Reykjavik Iceland
1976 XVI Estoril Portugal
1974 XV Jesolo Italy
1972 XIV Nuremberg Germany
1970 XIII Madrid Spain
1968 XII Amsterdam Netherlands
1966 XI Copenhagen Denmark
1964 X Budapest Hungary
1962 IX Madrid Spain
1960 VIII Liège Belgium
1958 VII Garmisch-Partenkirchen Germany
1956 VI Stockholm Sweden
1954 V Opatija Croatia
1952 IV Saarbrücken Germany
1950 III Vienna Austria
1948 II Paris France
1946 I Copenhagen Denmark