Honduras hosts IHF Trophy - Central American Zone

16 Apr. 2018

Honduras hosts IHF Trophy - Central American Zone

The IHF Trophy Central American Zone will be played Tegucigalpa, Honduras from 26-30 June 2018.


With Costa Rica (CRC), El Salvador (ESA), Guatemala (GUA), Honduras (HON), Nicaragua (NCA) and Panama (PAN), six teams have been invited to compete for a ticket to the IHF Trophy Continental Phase.


The IHF Trophy has been reconfigured for 2018 onwards and now includes two age categories - Junior (born on or after January 1, 1998) and Youth (born on or after January 1, 2000). The best teams from both categories will advance to the Continental Phase, with the winners of the IHF Trophy Intercontinental Junior Championships earning an automatic spot at the 2019 IHF Men’s Junior World Championships in Spain.


In 2019, the IHF Trophy will be for junior and youth women with the same format and qualification potential for the following years’ IHF Junior World Championships.


The IHF Trophy will then continue to alternate between men’s and women’s competitions each year.


IHF Trophy 2018: Upcoming men’s competitions

Chronological order


Dates: 17-21 April 2018

Asia - Zone IB (East and South East Asia)

Host City/Nation: Shah Alam Selangor, Malaysia (MAS)

Invited teams: Brunei (BRU), Cambodia (CAM), Laos (LAO), Indonesia (INA), Malaysia (MAS), Philippines (PHI), Singapore (SIN), Thailand (THA)


Dates: 24-28 April 2018

Africa - Zone VI and Zone VII

Host City/Nation: Lusaka, Zambia (ZAM)

Invited teams: Zambia (ZAM), Botswana (BOT), Lesotho (LES), Malawi (MAW), Mozambique (MOZ), Namibia (NAM), Swaziland (SWZ), Zimbabwe (ZIM), Seychelles (SEY) and Madagascar (MAD).


Dates: 7-12 May 2018

North American & Caribbean Zone

Host City/Nation: West Dundee, Illinois/United States of America (USA)

Invited teams: Barbados (BAR), Canada (CAN), Dominican Republic (DOM), Haiti (HTI), Martinique (MTN), United States of America (USA)


Dates: 14-20 May 2018

Africa - Zone V 

Host City/Nation: Kampala, Uganda (UGA)

Invited teams: Burundi (BDI), Djibouti (DJI), Ethiopia (ETH), Kenya (KEN), Rwanda (RWA), Somalia (SOM), South Sudan (SSD), Sudan (SUD), Tanzania (TAN), Uganda (UGA)


Dates: 6-10 June 2018

Africa - Zone IV

Host City/Nation: Kinshasa, DR Congo

Invited teams: Central African Republic (CAF), Congo (CGO), Chad (CHA), Cameroon (CMR), DR Congo (COD), Gabon (GAB), Equatorial Guinea (GEQ), Sao Tome and Principe (STP)


Dates: 11-15 June 2018

Oceania - Continental Phase

Host City/Nation: Nouméa, New Caledonia (NCL)

Invited teams: American Samoa (ASA), Australia (AUS), Cook Islands (COK), Fiji (FIJ), New Caledonia (NCL), New Zealand (NZL), Papua New Guinea (PNG), Tahiti (TAH)


Dates: 26-30 June 2018

Central American Zone

Host City/Nation: Tegucigalpa, Honduras (HON)

Invited teams: Costa Rica (CRC), El Salvador (ESA), Guatemala (GUA), Honduras (HON), Nicaragua (NCA), Panama (PAN)


Dates: 28 June - 2 July 2018

Asia - Zone IA (East and South East Asia)

Host City/Nation: Hong-Kong (HKG)

Invited teams: Hong-Kong (HKG), Macau (MAC), Mongolia (MGL), North Korea (PRK), Chinese Taipei (TPE), Vietnam (VIE)

Dates: 10-14 July 2018

South American Zone

Host City/Nation: Sucre, Bolivia (BOL)

Invited teams: Bolivia (BOL), Colombia (COL), Ecuador (ECU), French Guiana (GUF), Paraguay (PAR), Peru (PER), Venezuela (VEN)