IHF Trophy – Zone South America

10 Apr. 2018

IHF Trophy – Zone South America

From 10 to 14 July 2018, Bolivia’s capital Sucre welcomes the teams competing in the IHF Trophy - Zone South America tournament.

Besides hosts Bolivia, the junior and youth teams of Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela have been invited to take part in the competition.

The IHF Trophy has been reconfigured for 2018 onwards and now includes two age categories - Junior (born on or after January 1, 1998) and Youth (born on or after January 1, 2000). The best teams from both categories will advance to the Continental Phase, with the winners of the IHF Trophy Intercontinental Junior Championships earning an automatic spot at the 2019 IHF Men’s Junior World Championships in Spain.

In 2019, the IHF Trophy will be for junior and youth women with the same format and qualification potential for the following years’ IHF Junior World Championships (2020).

The IHF Trophy will then continue to alternate between men’s and women’s competitions each year.

IHF Trophy 2018: Upcoming men’s competitions

Chronological order

Dates: 17-21 April 2018

Asia - Zone IB (East and South East Asia)

Host City/Nation: Shah Alam Selangor, Malaysia (MAS)

Invited teams: Brunei (BRU), Cambodia (CAM), Laos (LAO), Indonesia (INA), Malaysia (MAS), Philippines (PHI), Singapore (SIN), Thailand (THA)

Dates: 24-28 April 2018

Africa - Zone VI and Zone VII

Host City/Nation: Lusaka, Zambia (ZAM)

Invited teams: Zambia (ZAM), Botswana (BOT), Lesotho (LES), Malawi (MAW), Mozambique (MOZ), Namibia (NAM), Swaziland (SWZ), Zimbabwe (ZIM), Seychelles (SEY) and Madagascar (MAD).

Dates: 7-12 May 2018

North American & Caribbean Zone

Host City/Nation: West Dundee, Illinois/United States of America (USA)

Invited teams: Barbados (BAR), Canada (CAN), Dominican Republic (DOM), Haiti (HTI), Martinique (MTN), United States of America (USA)

Dates: 14-20 May 2018

Africa - Zone V 

Host City/Nation: Kampala, Uganda (UGA)

Invited teams: Burundi (BDI), Djibouti (DJI), Ethiopia (ETH), Kenya (KEN), Rwanda (RWA), Somalia (SOM), South Sudan (SSD), Sudan (SUD), Tanzania (TAN), Uganda (UGA)

Dates: 6-10 June 2018

Africa - Zone IV

Host City/Nation: Kinshasa, DR Congo

Invited teams: Central African Republic (CAF), Congo (CGO), Chad (CHA), Cameroon (CMR), DR Congo (COD), Gabon (GAB), Equatorial Guinea (GEQ), Sao Tome and Principe (STP)

Dates: 11-15 June 2018

Oceania - Continental Phase

Host City/Nation: Nouméa, New Caledonia (NCL)

Invited teams: American Samoa (ASA), Australia (AUS), Cook Islands (COK), Fiji (FIJ), New Caledonia (NCL), New Zealand (NZL), Papua New Guinea (PNG), Tahiti (TAH)

Dates: 28 June - 2 July 2018

Asia - Zone IA (East and South East Asia)

Host City/Nation: Hong-Kong (HKG)

Invited teams: Hong-Kong (HKG), Macau (MAC), Mongolia (MGL), North Korea (PRK), Chinese Taipei (TPE), Vietnam (VIE)

Dates: 10-14 July 2018

South American Zone

Host City/Nation: Sucre, Bolivia (BOL)

Invited teams: Bolivia (BOL), Colombia (COL), Ecuador (ECU), French Guiana (GUF), Paraguay (PAR), Peru (PER), Venezuela (VEN)