Men’s European championship set for throw-off

09 Jan. 2020

Men’s European championship set for throw-off

The Men’s EHF EURO 2020 begins today 9 January in Graz, Austria and Trondheim, Norway. 24 national teams will play for the European title across three countries: Austria, Norway and Sweden. The winner of the Men’s EHF EURO 2020 will not only be crowned champions of Europe, but will also earn a place at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games this summer. 

Men’s EHF Euro 2020 marks the first time the continental tournament will feature 24 teams, increasing from 16 in previous editions. 

Spain aim to defend their maiden title won at the 2018 edition in Croatia, while current world and Olympic champions Denmark hope to add the continental trophy to hold the trifecta of major international titles.  

At the previous EURO, in 2018, record champions Sweden claimed the silver medal after ending a 16-year wait to return to the semi-finals. France clinched the 2018 bronze medal thanks to a victory over Denmark in the play-off for third. Alongside the title holders Spain, the four semi-finalists from the previous edition are amongst the favourites once more. 

The 24 teams have been drawn into six playing groups for the preliminary round, which will conclude on January 15. In what will be a highly competitive championship, only the top two teams from each preliminary group will qualify for the main round. At the end of the main round, the first and second-ranked teams in each group will proceed to the semi-finals. 

The latest news and results will be available on the EHF EURO 2020 website. All matches will be streamed live on, with geoblocking restrictions. 

PHOTO: European Handball Federation