Olympic Games Tokyo 2020

23 Jul. - 08 Aug. Japan

The Olympic Games Tokyo 2020, officially known as the Games of the XXXII Olympiad, will be held in Tokyo, Japan, from 23 July to 8 August 2021. Originally scheduled in summer 2020, they have been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic

Twelve men's and women's teams each will fight for glory at the Yoyogi National Stadium, trying to make their dream of an Olympic medal come true. 


Men’s Handball Tournament

Argentina (ARG), Bahrain (BRN), Brazil (BRA), Denmark (DEN), Egypt (EGY), France (FRA), Germany (GER), Japan (JPN), Norway (NOR), Portugal (POR), Spain (ESP), Sweden (SWE)

Women’s Handball Tournament

Angola (ANG), Brazil (BRA), France (FRA), Hungary (HUN), Japan (JPN), Republic of Korea (KOR), Montenegro (MNE), Netherlands (NED), Norway (NOR), ROC, Spain (ESP), Sweden (SWE)


The draw for the Tokyo 2020 Handball Tournaments was held in the IHF Head Office in Basel, Switzerland on 1 April 2021.


Men’s Handball Tournament

Pot 1: Denmark, Norway
Pot 2: France, Sweden
Pot 3: Germany, Portugal
Pot 4: Brazil, Japan
Pot 5: Spain, Egypt
Pot 6: Argentina, Bahrain

Women’s Handball Tournament

Pot 1: Netherlands, Spain
Pot 2: ROC, Montenegro
Pot 3: Norway, Hungary
Pot 4: Sweden, Japan
Pot 5: France, Republic of Korea
Pot 6: Angola, Brazil


Men’s Handball Tournament

Group A: Norway, France, Germany, Brazil, Spain, Argentina
Group B: Denmark, Sweden, Portugal, Japan, Egypt, Bahrain

Women's Handball Tournament

Group A: Netherlands, Montenegro, Norway, Japan, Republic of Korea, Angola
Group B: Spain, ROC, Hungary, Sweden, France, Brazil

Visit tokyo2020.org for more information on the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. 

more events

announcements image

The World Games 2022

. - .
announcements image

Men's EHF EURO 2022

. - .
announcements image

25th IHF Women's Wor…

. - .
announcements image

2021 South and Central Am…

. - .