Men's EHF EURO 2022

13 Jan. - 30 Jan. Hungary, Slovakia

The 2022 edition of the Men's EHF EURO took place in Hungary and Slovakia from 13 to 30 January. 

Bratislava and Kosice hosted the EHF EURO 2022 in Slovakia, while Debrecen, Szeged and Budapest staged the event in Hungary, with the final weekend organised in Budapest. 

With six preliminary round groups and two main round groups, the playing system remained the same as in 2020, with a total of 24 teams participating. The top two teams of each preliminary round group advanced to the main round. 


Austria (AUT), Belarus (BLR), Bosnia and Herzegovina (BIH), Croatia (CRO), Czech Republic (CZE), Denmark (DEN), France (FRA), Germany (GER), Hungary (HUN), Iceland (ISL), Lithuania (LTU), Montenegro (MNE), Netherlands (NED), North Macedonia (MKD), Norway (NOR), Poland (POL), Portugal (POR), Russia (RUS), Serbia (SRB), Slovakia (SVK), Slovenia (SLO), Spain (ESP), Sweden (SWE), Ukraine (UKR)


The draw for the event was held in Budapest on Thursday 6 May 2021.

Pot 1: Spain, Croatia, Norway, Slovenia, Germany, Portugal  defending champions, runners-up and four first-ranked teams of qualifiers
Pot 2: Sweden, Hungary, Russia, Denmark, Serbia, Austria – organisers, four first-ranked teams and one second-ranked team of qualifiers
Pot 3: Slovakia, Belarus, Iceland, Czech Republic, France, North Macedonia – organisers and five second-ranked teams of qualification groups
Pot 4: Netherlands, Montenegro, Ukraine, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Lithuania – two second-ranked teams of qualifiers and four third-ranked teams


Group A: Slovenia, Denmark, North Macedonia, Montenegro 
Group B: Portugal, Hungary, Iceland, Netherlands
Group C: Croatia, Serbia, France, Ukraine
Group D: Germany, Austria, Belarus, Poland
Group E: Spain, Sweden, Czech Republic, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Group F: Norway, Russia, Slovakia, Lithuania



1. Sweden
2. Spain
3. Denmark

4. France, 5. Norway, 6. Iceland, 7. Germany, 8. Croatia, 9. Russia, 10. Netherlands, 11. Montenegro, 12. Poland,13. Czech Republic, 14. Serbia, 15. Hungary, 16. Slovenia, 17. Belarus, 18. Slovakia, 19. Portugal, 20. Austria, 21. Lithuania, 22. North Macedonia, 23. Bosnia-Herzegovina, 24. Ukraine


The event served as qualification event for the 2023 IHF Men's World Championship in Poland and Sweden, with Spain, France and Norway qualifying. Denmark were already qualified as reigning world champions and Sweden and Poland as hosts.

More information can be found on the official website

more events

announcements image

2023 IHF Men’s Junior (U2…

. - .
announcements image

28th IHF Men's World…

. - .
announcements image

Women's EHF EURO 202…

. - .
announcements image

2022 IHF Men's Super…

. - .