Award Nominees

Andreas WOLFF

player image

Five goalkeepers have won the IHF Male Player of the Year so far, with Niklas Landin sealing the trophy twice, as Henning Fritz, Arpad Šterbik, Thierry Omeyer and Slawomir Szmal writing their names into history.

Now Wolff has the chance to do the same, making the shortlist due to his impressive performances at Poland/Sweden 2023, where he became the first goalkeeper in almost a decade to register over 100 saves in an edition of the world handball flagship competition.

Wolff had a 37 per cent saving efficiency, with 112 saves at Poland/Sweden 2023, enough for the third place in the goalkeeper standings, but his performances were off the charts, earning him a place in the All-Star team.

He was close to winning the EHF Champions League Men too with Industria Kielce, but the Polish side lost the final against SC Magdeburg and also finished on the fourth place at the 2023 IHF Men’s Super Globe, where Wolff came back after an injury.

Awards: All Star Goalkeeper - 2023 IHF Men's World Championship

Nominated World Players Of The Year

player image


Country: FRA


Entering his prime, Fabregas morphed into a complete player, with huge contributions on both sides of the ball, both in ...

Read more
player image

Mathias GIDSEL

Country: DEN

Right Back

Since his emergence in the Denmark men’s national team in 2021, Mathias Gidsel has shone brightly, completing his indivi...

Read more