We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.

2019 Men’s World Championship 2019 Men’s World Championship
Join the predictin game


Date: 1/14/2014

On Thursday (16 January) the starting whistle will be blown for the African Men’s and Women’s Championships in Algiers. The Algerian capital will host in total 20 teams – eight in the women’s competition and 12 in the men’s tournament. Both competitions are qualification events for the 2015 World Championships in Qatar (men) and Denmark (women). Three spots for both of the World Championships are reserved for Africa, so the three medallists of both men's and women's competition will clinch their berth for Qatar and Denmark.
The playing system remained the same as in previous events: The preliminary round will start on 16 January and will end on 21 January. The four best-ranked teams of each group qualify for the quarter-finals on 22 January, followed by semi-finals and the beginning of the placement round on 23 January and the medal and placement matches on 25 January.

Those are the preliminary round groups of the men’s tournament, in which Tunisia starts as defending champion: 
Group A: Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Cameroon, Gabon, Libya
Group B: Algeria, Morocco, Angola, Congo, DR Congo, Nigeria

Those are the preliminary round groups of the women’s tournament, in which Angola is the defending champion and will face Tunisia, the runners-up from 2012, already in the first stage:
Group A: Algeria, DR Congo, Cameroon, Senegal
Group B: Angola, Tunisia, Congo, Guinea

Main contenders for the tickets to Qatar besides Tunisia are the two remaining 2012 medallists Algeria (silver) and Egypt (bronze). Since 1998 either Tunisia (five times) or Egypt (three times) have raised the trophies at Men’s African Championships. Algeria had been the last to crack this dominance by winning the title in 1996. Algeria has not been hosting the African Championships since 2000.