We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 9/10/2013

The bidding process for the Men’s and Women’s World Championship has reached the next stage. After an overall of 13 National Federation had subscribed their letter of interest for the above mentioned events, the number of those, which will present their concepts to the IHF, changed to eight applicants – including Norway bidding for both events.

The remaining National Federations either withdrew from the bidding phase or did not meet the indicated deadline set by the IHF. The International Handball Federation announces hereafter those National Federations, which will present their concepts to the IHF on 11 October at the IHF Head Office in Basle, Switzerland.

Applicants for the 2019 Men’s World Championship:
- Denmark
- Germany
- Norway
- Poland
- Slovakia/Hungary (as joint applicants)
- Sweden

Applicants for the 2019 Women’s World Championship:
- Japan
- Norway


The awarding of the 2019 Men’s and Women’s World Championship will be made through the IHF Council in their first meeting after the IHF Ordinary Congress in Doha, Qatar on 28 October.