We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 3/26/2013

The last three spots for the Men’s Junior World Championship in Bosnia Herzegovina have been allocated: Brazil, Argentina and Chile qualified as representatives of Pan-America. Brazil won the title at the continental championship, which had come to an end in Mar de Plata in Argentina on Sunday night, 24 March. The Brazilians beat host Argentina in the final by 25:21 (11:11). Brazil’s Joao Silvao earned the top scorer crown with six goals while Argentine Pablo Simonet being the top scorer of the final with eight goals scored. Beforehand Chile had overcome Puerto Rico by 34:28 in the bronze final to secure the last Pan-American spot for the World Championship.


Brazil and Argentina had already been the predominant and unbeaten teams at the group stage. Argentina had claimed victory over Chile, Mexico and Uruguay in group A whereas Brazil had made a clear sweep against Canada, Puerto Rico, Venezuela and Paraguay in group B.
Chile won the decisive encounter against Uruguay by 20:17 to secure sought-after second place in group A while Puerto Rico got over Venezuela by 35:33 in the crucial duel for the semi-final in group B. And both group winners did not have any problems to win their semi-finals, as Argentina clashed Puerto Rico by 32:20 and Brazil earned an easy 32:17 win against Chile.


Placement matches:
5/6: Uruguay – Venezuela 34:27, 7-9: Mexico – Paraguay 40:26, Mexico – Canada 31:17


Final ranking:
Gold: Brazil, Silver: Argentina, Bronze: Chile (all medallist qualified for the World Championship in Bosnia-Herzegovina, 14-28 July 2013)
4. Puerto Rico, 5. Uruguay, 6. Venezuela, 7. Mexico, 8. Paraguay, 9. Canada


These are the 24 qualifiers for the Men’s Junior World Championship:
Host: Bosnia-Herzegovina
Europe: Spain, Croatia, Slovenia, Sweden, France, Germany, Switzerland, Russia, Denmark, Netherlands, Hungary and Serbia (as substitute nation after Oceania withdrew from participation)
Africa: Tunisia, Congo, Egypt, Angola, Algeria
Asia: Qatar, Korea, Kuwait
Pan-America: Brazil, Argentina, Chile



Photos taken by Cinara Piccolo / CBHb / Photo&Grafia