We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 1/11/2012

From 11 January on ten women’s and twelve men’s teams compete at the XX African Cup of Nations in Rabat and Sale, Morocco, for the continental trophies and for two tickets for the Olympic Games. The tournaments are highly decisive for the way to London, as the women’s obtain a place at the Olympic Qualification Tournaments – the men will play from 6 to 8 April, the women will compete from 25 to 27 May. Additionally, the African Cup of Nations is the qualification tournament for the men’s and women’s World Championships 2013 in Spain (men) and Serbia (women).

Tunisia (men) and Angola (women) are the defending champions of this African championship. Since 1998 Angola won all seven women’s titles, Tunisia is the men’s record champion with eight titles since 1974.

The Preliminary Round of the XX African Cup of Nations will be played from 11 to 16 January, followed by the quarterfinals (17/18 January), semi-finals (19 January) and the final day with final and Bronze final on 20 January.

The Groups of the Preliminary Round:

Women’s tournament:
Group A: Angola, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, DR Congo, Egypt
Group B: Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Congo, Senegal

Men’s tournament:
Group A: Tunisia, DR Congo, Morocco, Gabon, Congo, Senegal
Group B: Egypt, Algeria, Angola, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso