We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 5/9/2018

In January 2019, Germany and Denmark will welcome overall 24 teams to compete in the 26th IHF Men’s World Championship. Besides reigning world champions France and the hosts, the continental champions Tunisia, Qatar and Spain are already qualified just as well as the silver and bronze medallists of the 2018 African Championship (Egypt and Angola) and the teams ranked 2nd-4th at the Asian Championship (Bahrain, Korea, Saudi Arabia). In accordance with the current IHF Competition Regulations, the 2019 Men’s World Championship compulsory place of the continent of Oceania is awarded as a wild card by the IHF Council, as no Oceania team ranked 5th or higher at the 2018 Asian Men's Championship. The IHF Council has now decided to award the wild card to the national team of Japan.


Including Japan, 12 of the 24 teams to take part in the 2019 IHF Men’s World Championship are now know. The remaining teams will be determined in June through the Men’s Pan American Championship (three places) and the EHF Qualification Phase 2 - Play-offs (nine places).