We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.

2019 Men’s World Championship 2019 Men’s World Championship
Join the predictin game


Date: 3/7/2018

The International Olympic Committee Women and Sport Awards are awarded on an annual basis to individuals or organisations who make a remarkable contribution to women’s participation in sport. Each year, five continental trophies are awarded along with one world trophy, beginning when the initiative was introduced in 2000.


As they seek to empower women and girls through sport, the IOC are encouraging international sports federations, National Olympic Committees and continental associations to nominate individuals or organisations they believe “have made remarkable contributions to the development, encouragement and reinforcement of women’s participation in sport,” as stated on the IOC website. “The award highlights role models and change agents in the pursuit of gender equality.”


The IOC places great importance on reaching gender parity, and it is for this reason that recognising those who use sport as a social tool to educate and provide opportunities for women and girls is vital. The IOC is also a strong supporter of International Women’s Day, for which this year’s event on March 8 will be promoted with the #PressforProgress campaign.


Recognising role models and change agents around the world


In 2017, the IOC Women and Sport Awards world trophy went to Finnish Birgitta Kervinen, a great advocate for grassroots sport and gender equality, a strong supporter of equal opportunity for all, and a positive role model for women in sport.


Other previous winners include Ethiopian journalist Dagim Zinabu Teckle (2016), who founded the Lisan Women’s Sport Radio Programme, which has been crucial in demonstrating that sport can help prevent abuse of women. In 2015, the world trophy was won by the New Zealand Olympic Committee, who advocated change to ensure women have prominent roles in all aspects of sport.


Applications and nominations are due by March 16. More information on the awards can be found on the IOC website here.