2019 Men’s World Championship 2019 Men’s World Championship
Join the predictin game


Date: 3/15/2017

After a group of IHF experts and national team coaches had nominated five coaches of men’s and women’s teams each, who they consider to be the best of the best in the handball world, fans and media all over the world had the chance to vote for their Coaches of the Year 2016.


Over two weeks, thousands of handball fans took their chance to cast a vote and taking all three votes – experts, media and fans – into consideration, the result is now final. Didier Dinart follows in the footsteps of his predecessor Claude Onesta, who himself won the award in 2009 and 2010. In the women’s category, Thorir Hergeirsson made it to the top again and thus wins the award for the fifth time.


The Coach of the Year 2016 in the men’s category was not decided until the last voting day when Didier Dinart (FRA) could get ahead of Veselin Vujovic (MNE) in the fan vote (31.35%) and passed Christian Berge in the media vote (22.58%). Overall, the Frenchman ranked first in the end, while Christian Berge from Norway comes in second, Vujovic third and Icelanders Dagur Sigurdsson and Gudmundur Gudmundsson fourth and fifth, respectively.


In the women’s category, Thorir Hergeirsson (ISL) topped two out of three votes (expert and fans) to finish before Olivier Krumbholz from France. It was a close race for place three between Kim Rasmussen (DEN) and Henk Groner (NED), with the fans being decisive in the end. 18.18% in the fan vote put Groener in third place while Rasmussen finishes fourth. Russia’s Evgeniy Trefilov came in fifth.


Below you can find a short overview of the winners. If you want to know more about all nominees and their 2016 performances click here.


Didier Dinart

Nationality: France

Date of birth: 18 January 1977

Coach of: France men’s national team

Achievements: EHF EURO 2014 gold, winner of 2015 World Championship and Olympic silver at Rio 2016 as assistant coach; 2017 World Championship winner


Thorir Hergeirsson

Nationality: Iceland

Date of birth: 27 April 1964

Coach of: Norway women’s national team

Achievements: Gold at World Championships in 2009 (back then part of the coaching team), 2011 and 2015, winner of 2010, 2014 and 2014 Women’s EHF EUROs, runner-up at EURO 2012; Olympic gold in 2012 and bronze in 2016; 5x IHF Coach of the Year (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016)