We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 12/2/2016

During the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, 336 handball players participating in the tournaments had the opportunity to vote for the IHF Athletes’ Commission candidates, proposed by the national federations and confirmed by the IHF Executive Committee. An impressive participation rate of 94.6% shows that the election of an Athletes’ Commission was very well received among the athletes.


On 11 November 2016, the IHF Council confirmed the election result at its meeting in Herzogenaurach, Germany, during which IHF President Dr Hassan Moustafa stressed again the necessity of supporting the IHF Athletes’ Commission, considering that the athletes are the heart of the events. 


The Electoral Commission, consisting of Jean Brihault as chairman and Mansourou Aremou, Bader Al-Theyab and two IHF staff members as members, unanimously ascertained that there were no irregularities during the elections, which were completed on 11 August 2016 in Rio de Janeiro and confirmed the below results.


The IHF Athlete’s Commission is composed of the following members:


Gro Hammerseng-Edin (178 votes) Chairwoman

Diego Simonet           (159 votes) Member

Mouna Chebbah           (129 votes) Member

Cristina Neagu             (125 votes) Member

Igor Vori                       (114 votes) Member



All members are active handball players who have participated in at least two IHF Senior World Championships and were at least 20 years of age at the time of the election. In addition, they never were sanctioned for a doping offence or unsportsmanlike actions.


36-years-old chairwoman Gro Hammerseng-Edin from Norway participated in the 2001, 2003 and 2007 World Championships, as well as in the 2008 Olympic Games. She currently plays for Larvik HK (NOR), with whom she competed in the EHF Champions League in the 2014/15 and 2015/16 seasons.


Argentina’s Diego Simonet, 27 years old, made his debut on the world championship stage in 2011 and then took part in the 2013 and 2015 World Championships, as well as the 2012 Olympic Games. Currently, Simonet plays for MHB Montpellier in France.


Mouna Chebbah plays for the Tunisian national team and has never missed a single one after her first appearance in 2001. At the 2015 Women’s World Championship in Denmark she finished as top scorer of her team. The 34-year-old currently plays for French club Chambray TH.


Cristina Neagu, born on 26 August 1988, is Romania’s current number 1 player and was voted World Handball Player of the Year in 2010 and 2015. She took part in the 2007, 2013 and 2015 Women’s World Championships as well as the 2012 Olympic Games. Neagu currently plays for 2012 and 2015 EHF Champions League winners Buducnost Podgorica in Montenegro. 


Since his first appearance in 2003, 36-year-old Croatian Igor Vori never missed one single World Championship and took part in the 2004, 2008 and 2012 Olympic Games. After three years playing for French powerhouse Paris Saint-Germain HB, Vori returned to RK Zagreb.


IHF President Dr Hassan Moustafa congratulates the players elected to the Athletes’ Commission and wishes that they will productively represent the handball players worldwide.