We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 4/11/2012

24 teams from four continents will compete for the medals at the Women’s Junior World Championship in Ostrava and Brno, Czech Republic from 1 to 14 July 2012. After the European qualification had been finished, all participants are known.
In total 24 teams from Europe played at six qualification tournaments for eleven tickets to the Women’s Junior World Championship. As host Czech Republic and the finalists of the European U19 Championship – Denmark and the Netherlands – had directly qualified, the remaining participants were decided in a total of 36 matches. The following teams made their way to the World Championship: Austria, France, Serbia, Croatia, Sweden, Norway, Russia, Romania, Hungary, Spain, Poland. Europe received an additional eleventh place, as Oceania had withdrawn from participating in Czech Republic. The defending champion of the Women’s Junior World Championship is Norway after winning the 2010 final in Seoul, Korea, against Russia.

The draw for the four Preliminary Round groups (with six teams each) will take place on Wednesday 18 April at 13:00 local time in Ostrava.

These are the pots for the draw event:

Pot 1: Denmark, Netherlands, Austria, Korea
Pot 2: Serbia, Sweden, Russia, Romania
Pot 3: Croatia, Hungary, Czech Republic, France
Pot 4: Poland, China, Brazil, Congo
Pot 5: Norway, Kazakhstan, Uruguay, Angola
Pot 6: Spain, Japan, Argentina, Tunisia

The draw event will be live streamed on www.handball2012.tvcom.cz

Find all information about the draw procedure under the following link: