We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 12/4/2014

The East and South East Zone of the IHF Trophy for Asia will take place from 8 to 12 December in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. This is the second time Johor Bahru is organizing the IHF Trophy as the Competition of the same zone in 2012 also took place in this town on the border with Singapore.


6 teams in the men’s competition and 4 teams in the women’s competition will compete in order to secure a place in Continental Phase of the IHF Trophy for Asia, which will take place from 27.04. to 03.05.2015.


The national teams of the host Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore and Thailand will compete in the women’s bracket of the tournament, while Brunei and the Philippines will join the already mentioned national teams to complete the men’s part of the tournament. It is worth noting that this is the first time the Philippines and Brunei will take part in an international competition. Brunei joined the International Handball Federation on the IHF Congress in Doha, Qatar, in October 2013.


The national teams of Thailand will defend their zone titles, having prevailed in the competition in this zone in 2012. The women’s team of Thailand was even the winner of the Continental Phase for Asia in the previous Competition Cycle.


The IHF, as usual practice, will organize courses for coaches and referees during the competition. The course for coaches will be led by Dr. Taiysir Mansi (JOR,) while Mr. Terje Anthonsen (NOR) will be in charge of the refereeing course.


The full match schedule can be found on the following link: