We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 10/23/2014

Today 23 October, the Founding Congress of the Oceania Continent Handball Federation took place in Guam. Led by IHF President Dr Hassan Moustafa, 12 Member Federations from the region gathered in the offices of the Oceania National Olympic Committees in order to establish the Continent's Handball Federation as a first step towards membership in the International Handball Federation.


Mr Ricardo Blas, President of the Guam Handball Federation, was elected as President of the Oceania Continent Handball Federation receiving more votes in the process than Mr Alex Gavrilovic (AUS). Mrs Makiroa Mitchell-John from the Cook Islands was elected as Secretary General, and Mr Robert Doko, President of Papua New Guinea Handball Federation, will serve as Vice-President of the Oceania Continent Handball Federation. Mr Carl Floor from American Samoa is the elected Treasurer.


Additionally Mr Ishmael Nori from the Solomon Islands has been elected as additional member of the Executive Committee.


Besides the election of the positions in the Executive Committee, the Oceania Congress elected the chairpersons of the OCHF Commissions. Mrs Joann Aquino from the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands was elected as Chairwoman of the Commission of Organizing and Competition (COC), Mr Charles Nelson as Chairman of the Playing Rules and Referees Commission (PRC) and Mr Mark Dawson from Australia as Chairman of the Beach Handball Commission (BC). Mrs Helen Boyd from Australia will be the Chairwoman of the Arbitration Commission.