We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 4/24/2014

Summer 2014 will be marked by the Women’s Junior (U20) World Championship in Croatia, including 24 teams from all over the world. 
In close cooperation with the organizer, the International Handball Federation has now scheduled the draw event. 
The draw for the Women's Junior (U20) World Championship in Croatia will be conducted in Koprivnica (City Hall), the main venue of the competition, where all stages of the World Championship including the final weekend will take place, on 27 April, 13:00 local time. 

All 24 spots for the event in Croatia have already been confirmed.

Those teams have qualified for the Women’s Junior (U20) World Championship (28 June to 13 July 2014):
Host: Croatia
Defending U-18 World Champion: Denmark
Europe: Russia, Hungary, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Serbia, Sweden
Asia: Korea, Japan, China, Kazakhstan
Africa: Angola, DR Congo, Tunisia
Pan-America: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina

Performance rows for the draw event:
Row 1: Denmark, Russia, Hungary, Norway
Row 2: Romania, Netherlands, Korea, France
Row 3: Sweden, Croatia, Germany, Slovenia
Row 4: Brazil, Angola, Japan, Czech Republic
Row 5: Uruguay, China, DR Congo, Serbia
Row 6: Portugal, Argentina, Tunisia, Kazakhstan

Draw procedure:
In order to avoid that two or three teams from the same continent face within the preliminary round, 4 continental pots have been created for the draw. Each continent has a place in row 4, row 5 and row 6 according to the continental ranking. Only teams of row 4 are drawn, the places of the teams of row 5 and 6 then result automatically from the related positions.
After those rows 4 to 6 have been decided, the pots 2 and 1 are drawn to the groups A to D. Then organizer Croatia has the prerogative to assign itself to a group of its choice in row 3, before the remaining teams in pot 3 are drawn to groups A to D in row 3.

The Preliminary Round (28 June to 5 July, six teams in four groups) will be played in Koprivnica, Dugo Selo, Čakovec and Zagreb. Those teams to finish fifth and sixth in their groups will continue in the President’s Cup in Čakovec from 7 to 9 July. The Eighth-Finals with the best four teams of each group will take place in Koprivnica and Dugo Selo on 7 July, followed by the Quarter-Finals in Koprivnica (9 July) and the Placement Round 9-18 in Dugo Selo (9, 10 and 12 July). The losers of the Quarter-Finals compete in the Placement Round 9-16 (11 and 13 July) in Koprivnica, while the semi-finalists face on 11 July in Koprivnica, where the medals matches will take place on 13 July.