We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 4/17/2014

The qualification for the Women’s Junior World Championship in Croatia (28 June to 13 July 2014) will be finalized on the Easter weekend. In six tournaments all over Europe in total 22 teams compete for ten open spots for the event in Croatia, in which in total 24 teams will participate.
From Europe, Croatia as hosts, Russia and Hungary as first and second ranked teams at the Women’s Under-19 European Championship and Denmark as the reigning Women’s Under-18 World Champions are already qualified.

Those are the qualification tournaments:
Tournament 1 (in Olomouc, Czech Republic): Norway, Czech Republic, Turkey, Israel
Tournament 2 (in Reykjavik, Iceland): Romania, Slovenia, Iceland, Ukraine
Tournament 3 (in Chorzow, Poland): Netherlands, Slovakia, Serbia, Poland
Tournament 4 (in Zug, Switzerland): Portugal, France, Lithuania, Switzerland
Tournament 5 (in Chieti, Italy): Sweden, Austria, Italy
Tournament 6 (in Neckarsulm, Germany): Spain, Germany, Bulgaria

The best two teams each from the tournaments 1, 2, 3 and 4 qualify for Croatia, while only the winners of the tournaments 5 and 6 clinch their berth to the World Championship.

The compulsory place of the continent of Oceania had been reallocated to the Continental Confederation in attendance of a substitute (EHF), since Oceania will not participate. Europe was thus awarded with an additional place.

Those teams have already qualified for the World Championship in Croatia:
Host: Croatia
Defending U-18 World Champion: Denmark
Europe: Russia, Hungary
Asia: Korea, Japan, China, Kazakhstan
Africa: Angola, DR Congo, Tunisia
Pan-America: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina