We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 1/26/2014

Backed by 10.000 frenetic spectators Algeria have become African men’s champions on home ground, dethroning Tunisia in the final in Algier. New African women’s champions are Tunisia after beating DR Congo in the finale.
Goalkeeper Slahdji Abdelmalek was the key to success for the Algerians, who took their first continental title since 1996 by a 25:21 (12:11) win over the defending champions Tunisia. Tunisiawere close the Algerians for 50 minutes, but then the crowd boosted the host to this remarkable victory. By beating Angola in a one-sided match by 31:24 (19:12) Egypt won the bronze medal  and booked – like both finalists – the ticket for the 2015 Men’s World Championship in Qatar. Best scorer of the bronze final was Egyptian Ismael Ali Zeinedabdin by ten goals.
After a long wait of 38 years the Tunisian women have won their first continental trophy. But the President’s Cup winner of the 2013 Women’s World Championship had a high mountain to climb before DR Congo was beaten in an unexpected close final by 23:20 after being below by 10:11 at the break.
Before, the Tunisian women had ended the 18 years dominance of Angola after nine consecutive titles by a thrilling 31:30 victory after extra time in the semi-finals and thereby took revenge for their four straight final defeats in the previous African championships.
This semi was the most thrilling match of the whole competition. Tunisia took an early clear lead and defended the advance until the final stages. But suddenly they lacked the luck and power, so Angola took their first lead at 26:25 in the final minute, before Kouki Manel equalized by a penalty shot in the dying seconds. And in extra time Tunisia did not give the lead from their hands.
In the second semi the “Leopards” of DR Congo shattered all the hopes of host Algeria in a dominant way. In the end, the 28:23 (12:10 at the break) meant the first ever participation in a final for DR Congo in history after they had clashed their neighbours Congo in the quarter-finals by 27:22. But the Angolans had ahappy-ending on the final day in Algier, winning the bronze finalby 30:22 (18:10) to qualify for the 2015 Women’s World Championship in Denmark like new champions Tunisia and DR Congo thanks to ten goals of Magda Cazanga.
In the men’s competition Tunisia had an extremely hard fight to reach the final by a semi win over Egypt. The Egyptians were in lead by 12:10 at the break, but then Tunisia extremely improved in defence and conceded only eight goals in the second half to finally win by 22:20. Tunisia had been ahead by five goals already in the first half, before Egypt improved and were in lead until the intermediate score of 16:15 in the second half. But after the 18:17 defending champions Tunisia did not give the lead from their hands and made it to their third straight final.
In the second men’s semi, host Algeria confirmed their favoured role against surprise team Angola, winning by 27:23 (13:11) to confirm the exactly same final fixture as two years ago.
On the fringes of the tournament in Algier, the African Confederation made a major decision fort he future of the African championships. After the men’s and women’s tournaments had been organized in one event 21 times by now, from 2016 on there will be separated tournaments for both genders. Egypt will host the first ever Men’s African championship in two years, while Angola will organized the women’s championship 2016.

Result summary of the African championships:
Men’s competition:
Quarter-finals: Algeria – Senegal  44:21 (21:12), Tunisia – Congo 44:21 (23:8), Angola – Cameroon 24:21 (12:12), Egypt – Morocco 24:15 (10:6)
Semi-finals: Tunisia – Egypt 22:20 (10:12), Algeria – Angola 27:23 (13:11)
Bronze final: Egypt – Angola 30:24 (19:12), Final: Tunisia –Algeria 21:25 (11:12)

Women’s competition:
Quarter-finals: Algeria – Guinea 25:17 (14:8), Angola – Cameroon 28:23 (17:11), DR Congo – Congo 27:22 (13:13), Tunisia – Senegal 31:27 (17:13)
Semi-finals: Tunisia – Angola 31:30 (26:26, 14:12), DR Congo – Algeria 28:23 (12:10)
Bronze final Angola – Algeria 30:22 (18:10), Final: Tunisia – DR Congo 2320 (10:11)