We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 1/26/2014

More than 35.000 handball fans from all over the world have cast their votes – and the winners are…..Serbian Andrea Lekic and Croat Domagoj Duvnjak! Both are the 2013 Grundfos World Handball Players of the Year. IHF President Dr Hassan Moustafa unveiled the secret together with Grundfos Director of Corporate Brand Development Mr Kim Klastrup on Sunday (26 January) in Herning, Denmark, prior to the final of the European Championship of Denmark vs. France. 

Just prior to his awarding to the World Handball Player of the Year, Duvnjak, who still was in his jersey, had missed the bronze medal after a 28:29 against Spain but was also awarded All Star Player of the European championship as best centre back.
For both, 26 year old Lekic and Duvnjak, it is the first ever Grundfos World Handball Player award in their career, they are the successors of Alexandra Nascimento (BRA) and Daniel Narcisse (FRA). After Ivano Balic in 2003 and 2006, Duvnjak (playing for German side HSV Hamburg) is the second Croat in history to win this award, Lekic (playing for Macedonian champions Vardar Skopje) is the first ever Serbian women, Svetlana Kitic had been the first ever female awarded in 1988 for Yugoslavia.

IHF President Dr Hassan Moustafa and Kim Klastrup handed over the official Grundfos World Handball Player of the Year trophy and a cheque worth 10.000 Euros to both players, who were cheered with a big applause by the 14.000 fans in the sold-out arena in Herning.
Lekic and Duvnjak received exactly each 33 percent of all votes. Second ranked in the women’s voting was Hungarian Anita Görbicz (27%), ahead of their Györ club team mates Katrine Lunde (Norway/20%), Katarina Bulatovic (Montenegro/13%) and 2011 Grundfos World Handball Player of the Year Heidi Löke (Norway/7%).

Duvnjak topped the ranking ahead of Danish Mikkel Hansen (2011 Grundfos World Handball Player of the Year/27%), Spaniard Arpad Sterbik (2005 Grundfos World Handball Player of the Year/20%), Czech Filip Jicha (2010 Grundfos World Handball Player of the Year/13%) and Frenchmen Daniel Narcisse (2012 Grundfos World Handball Player of the Year/7%). 

Lekic, who had started her international career in Ljubljana, was the key player of the Serbian team to win the silver medal on home ground at the 2013 World Championship. Additionally she won the EHF Champions League trophy with her former club Audi ETO Györ (Hungary). 
25 year old Duvnjak also won the EHF Champions League in 2013 with Hamburg, was All Star Team player and bronze medallist at the World Championship 2013 in Spain with the Croats. The former Zagreb player was World Championship runners-up in 2009, European silver medallist in 2010 and each bronze medal winner at the 2012 Olympic Games and the 2012 European championship.

Results Grundfos World Handball Player of the Year 2013 voting:
1. Andrea Lekic (SRB, Vardar Skopje) 33%
2. Anita Görbicz (HUN, Audi ETO Györ) 27%
3. Katrine Lunde (NOR, Audi ETO Györ) 20%
4. Katarina Bulatovic (MNE, Audi ETO Györ) 13%
5. Heidi Löke (NOR, Audi ETO Györ) 7%

1. Domagoj Duvnjak (CRO, HSV Hamburg) 33%
2. Mikkel Hansen (DEN, Paris St. Germain) 27%
3. Arpad Sterbik (ESP, FC Barcelona)20%
4. Filip Jicha (CZE, THW Kiel) 13%
5. Daniel Narcisse (FRA, Paris St. Germain)7%

All Grundfos World Handball Players of the Year:
1988 Svetlana Kitic YUG 
1989 Hyun-Mee Kim KOR
1990 Jasna Merdan-Kolar AUT 
1994 Mia Hermansson-Hogdahl SWE 
1995 Erszsebet Kocsis HUN 
1996 O-Kyeong Lim KOR 
1997 Anja Andersen DEN 
1998 Trine Haltvik NOR 
1999 Ausra Fridrikas AUT 
2000 Bojana Radulovics HUN 
2001 Cecilie Leganger NOR 
2002 Chao Zhai CHN 
2003 Bojana Radulovics HUN 
2004 Anita Kulcsar HUN 
2005 Anita Görbicz HUN 
2006 Nadine Krause GER 
2007 Gro Hammerseng NOR 
2008 Linn-Kristin Riegelhuth NOR 
2009 Alison Pineau FRA
2010 Cristina Neagu ROM 
2011 Heidi Løke NOR 
2012 Alexandra Nascimento BRA
2013: Andrea Lekic SRB

1988 Veselin Vujovic YUG 
1989 Jae-Won Kang KOR 
1990 Magnus Wislander SWE 
1994 Talant Dushebajew RUS 
1995 Jackson Richardson FRA 
1996 Talant Dushebajew ESP 
1997 Stephane Stoecklin FRA 
1998 Daniel Stephan GER 
1999 Rafael Guijosa ESP 
2000 Dragan Skrbic YUG 
2001 Kyung-Shin Yoon KOR 
2002 Bertrand Gille FRA 
2003 Ivano Balic CRO 
2004 Henning Fritz GER 
2005 Arpad Sterbik SCG 
2006 Ivano Balic CRO 
2007 Nikola Karabatic FRA 
2008 Thierry Omeyer FRA 
2009 Slawomir Szmal POL 
2010 Filip Jicha CZE 
2011 Mikkel Hansen DEN
2012 Daniel Narcisse FRA
2013: Domagoj Duvnjak CRO