We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 5/14/2012

All 20 teams have now made their way to the IV Women’s Youth World Championship in Montenegro, the last three remaining places were decided at the Pan-American Championship in Santiago de Chile.

The following teams have qualified for the World Championship, which will be played right after the 2012 Olympic Games in the cities of Podgorica and Bar from 16 to 26 August 2012:

Organizer: Montenegro
Europe: Russia (European Champion), Denmark, Norway, Hungary, France, Sweden, Romania, Netherlands, Croatia, Czech Republic, Portugal (as substitute nation for Oceania, which withdrew from their participation)
Pan-America: Brazil (Pan-American Champion), Uruguay, Paraguay
Africa: Angola (African Champion), DR Congo
Asia: Korea (Asian Champion), Japan, Kazakhstan

The draw for the Women’s Youth World Championship will take place on Friday, 18 May, 10:30 local time at the IHF Head Office in Basle, Switzerland, and will be conducted by Leon Kalin, Chairman of the IHF Commission of Organizing and Competition, and representatives of the Handball Federation of Montenegro.